ffmpeg conversion error: Could not find tag for codec pcm_s16be

I was trying to convert a big footage to h264 format using ffmpeg command:

$ ffmpeg -i C0005.MP4 -c:v libx264 -c:a copy C0005_H264.mp4

But it was returning this error:

Could not find tag for codec pcm_s16be in stream #1, codec not currently supported in container
Could not write header for output file #0 (incorrect codec parameters ?): Invalid argument
Error initializing output stream 0:0 --

After some searching I found some hints here:

https://ffmpeg.org/pipermail/libav-user/2016-January/008756.html

Oh yeah, we PCM 16-bit is not support by MP4 see: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_video_container_formats, but it is strange because the original video as on MP4 container and I was just instructing ffmpeg to copy the audio. Too Lazy I will not search for it, but I think it is ffmpeg fault. If you find further info, please comment here.

I decided to use the AAC audio format instead copying the PCM format that was embedded in the video:

$ ffmpeg -i C0005.MP4 -c:v libx264 -c:a aac -strict experimental C0005_H264.mp4

And it worked fine!

Leave a comment